UK’s Largest Art Prize Artes Mundi 5 Call For Artist Nominations

One artist will receive a £40,000 prize and all other shortlisted artists will receive an award of £4,000 each 

June 3, 2011 /Photography NewsArtes Mundi is an international arts organisation based in Wales. Established in 2002, Artes Mundi is committed to supporting groundbreaking contemporary visual artists from around the world whose work engages with social reality, lived experience and the human condition.

Every two years, working with artists, galleries, art institutions, curators and the British Council, Artes Mundi seeks nominations of artists known in their own country or region but who are still gaining wider international recognition.  Two independent selectors review the nominations and select six artists for the biennial Exhibition and Prize.

In 2010 the Artes Mundi 4 Prize was awarded to Yael Bartana who will represent Poland at the 2011 Venice Biennale. The first Artes Mundi Prize was awarded in 2004 to Xu Bing, a Chinese born artist living in New York. In 2006 the Artes Mundi 2 Prize was awarded to the Finnish artist Eija-Liisa Ahtila, and in 2008 to the Indian artist NS Harsha.

Artes Mundi is publicly funded by the Arts Council of Wales and by Cardiff City Council.


Artes Mundi will award £40,000 to the winner and £4,000 each to the other shortlisted artists. A 12 week exhibition featuring a body of work from each of the shortlisted artists will take place at the National Museum of Art in Cardiff. Artes Mundi 5 will be installed in almost 800 square metres of new contemporary art galleries at the National Museum Cardiff, opening in September 2012. A new partnership with Mostyn will also see one of the shortlisted artists present a solo show the year after the exhibition.

The Artes Mundi 5 shortlist will be announced in September 2011. The exhibition will open in September 2012, running concurrently with other headline events in the UK’s visual arts calendar such as the Turner Prize, Frieze Art Fair and Liverpool Biennial. The prize will be awarded in November 2012.


To be nominated artists should:
  • make work that engages with social reality, lived experience and the human condition
  • be established in their own country or region and emerging internationally
Please note that you cannot nominate yourself. If you are an artist wishing to be nominated you should identify someone who knows your work well, such as a curator you’ve worked with, and ask them to nominate you.

Deadline: The closing date for nominations is 26 June 2011.

Artists can be nominated through the Artes Mundi website at

4 comments so far. What do you think?

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.